Read

Recent Essays

“The Healing Power of Nature: Why Forests and Rivers Are the Most Potent Health Tonic Around.”  Aeon. https://aeon.co/essays/why-forests-and-rivers-are-the-most-potent-health-tonic-around. Melbourne: Aeon Media Ltd. September 6, 2017.

“Giving In.” Hunger Mountain: The VCFA Journal for the Arts. http://hungermtn.org/giving-in/. March 23, 2017.

“Starring Sea Monsters,” Hakai Magazine. https://www.hakaimagazine.com/article-short/starring-sea-monsters. June 9, 2017.

“What Casablanca Taught Me about Resilience.” The Wisdom Daily. http://thewisdomdaily.com/what-casablanca-taught-me-about-resilience/. June 5, 2017.

“How to Develop a Spiritual Connection to Water.” The Wisdom Daily. http://thewisdomdaily.com/how-to-develop-a-spiritual-connection-to-water/. April 3, 2017.

“The Big Dam Era Is Not Over,” Undarkhttp://undark.org/article/storage-dams-water-groundwater-canada-drought-site-c/. July 26, 2016.

“Breaking the Rules Outdoors,” Aeon. https://aeon.co/ideas/why-breaking-the-rules-outdoors-is-an-irresponsible-thrill. Melbourne: Aeon Media Ltd. July 25, 2016.

“Boatwomen,” Sweatpants&Coffee. http://sweatpantsandcoffee.com/boatwomen/. February 19, 2016.

“Midnight at the Oasis,” Aeon. http://aeon.co/magazine/science/the-high-environmental-cost-of-our-oasis-fix/. Melbourne: Aeon Media Ltd. November 6, 2015.

“Consistently Lovely: The Exceptional Field Notes of Martin H. Moynihan,” Hakai Magazine. http://www.hakaimagazine.com/article-short/consistently-lovely-exceptional-field-notes-martin-h-moynihan. Victoria, British Columbia, Canada: Tula Foundation. October 23, 2015.

“Getting the Drift,” Hakai Magazine. http://www.hakaimagazine.com/article-short/getting-drift. August 14, 2015.

“Drought and the Ostrich Syndrome,” Aeon. http://ideas.aeon.co/viewpoints/1704. Melbourne: Aeon Media Ltd. April 14, 2015.

A Few Interviews

Stadtmueller, Maria Theresa, “Humans and Water: Big River Guide, Fluvial Geologist, and Writer Becca Lawton.” The Big Chew Podcast. http://meetyourmyth.com/reading-water-big-river-guide-fluvial-geologist-writer-becca-lawton/. September 2017.

Rosenfeld, Jordan, “Rebecca Lawton: The Wilderness Inside and Out.” Write Livelihood. http://jordanrosenfeld.net/6119-2/. February 29, 2016.

Olsen, Erica, “Steelies and Other Endangered Species by Rebecca Lawton.” Necessary Fiction.
http://necessaryfiction.com/reviews/SteeliesandOtherEndangeredSpeciesbyRebeccaLawton. November 9, 2015.

Stephanie Naiman, “So You Want to Be a . . . River Guide.” Auntie Venom. http://auntievenom.com/so-you-want-to-be-a-river-guide/. November 2015.

Boon, Sarah, “Environmental Writer Interviews.” Watershed Moments: Thoughts from the Hydrosphere. https://snowhydro1.wordpress.com/2015/06/22/environment-writer-interviews-rebecca-lawton/. June 22, 2015.

Leave a comment